Corporate Governance

Corporate Governance

The ability of Arbuthnot to adapt and grow has come from managing the business through seven key principles developed over time.

Open and Accountable

The Board endorses the principles of openness, integrity and accountability which underlie good governance and takes into account the provisions of the UK Corporate Governance Code in so far as they are considered applicable to and appropriate for it, given its size and circumstances, and the role and overall shareholding of its majority shareholder. The Company has been approved by the Prudential Regulation Authority (“PRA”) as a parent financial holding company of its Group’s banking subsidiary, Arbuthnot Latham & Co., Ltd. Arbuthnot Latham is authorised by the PRA and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (“FCA”) and by the PRA. Three of its subsidiaries, Asset Alliance Leasing Limited, Forest Asset Finance Limited and Renaissance Asset Finance Limited, are authorised by the FCA. Accordingly, the Group operates to the high standards of corporate accountability and regulatory compliance appropriate for such a business.

The Board

The Board meets regularly throughout the year, holding seven scheduled meetings as well as a separate strategy meeting. Substantive agenda items have briefing papers, which are circulated in a timely manner before each meeting. The Board ensures that it is supplied with all the information that it requires and requests in a form and of a quality to fulfill its duties. 

In addition to overseeing the management of the Group, the Board has determined certain items which are reserved for decision by itself. These matters include approval of the Group’s long-term objectives and commercial strategy, ensuring a sound system of internal control, risk management strategy, approval of major investments, acquisitions and disposals, any changes to capital structure and the overall review of corporate governance. 

The Company Secretary is responsible for ensuring that the Board processes and procedures are appropriately followed and support effective decision making. All directors have access to the Company Secretary’s advice and services. There is an agreed procedure for directors to obtain independent professional advice in the course of their duties, if necessary, at the Company’s expense. 

New directors receive induction training upon joining the Board, with individual listed company training provided by the Company’s AIM Nominated Adviser and AQSE Corporate Adviser. Regulatory and compliance training is provided by the Heads of Compliance and Financial Crime or by an external firm of lawyers, accountants and other subject matter experts. Risk management training is provided, including that in relation to the ICAAP and ILAAP, by the Arbuthnot Latham Chief Risk Officer with an overview of credit and its associated risks and mitigation by the Arbuthnot Latham Chief Credit Officer. 

The Board has delegated certain of its responsibilities to Committees. All Committees have written terms of reference.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee oversees, on behalf of the Board, financial reporting, the appropriateness and effectiveness of systems and controls, the work of Internal Audit and the arrangements for and effectiveness of the external audit. The ultimate responsibility for reviewing and approving the Annual Report and Accounts and the Interim Report lies with the Board. The Audit Committee also reviews whistleblowing arrangements for employees to raise concerns in confidence. 

Membership of the Audit Committee is restricted to non-executive Directors and comprises Ian Dewar (as Chairman), Sir Nigel Boardman and Sir Alan Yarrow. The Company Secretary acts as its Secretary.

Remuneration Committee

Membership of the Remuneration Committee is limited to non-executive directors together with Sir Henry Angest as Chairman. The present members of the Committee are Sir Henry Angest, Sir Nigel Boardman and Sir Alan Yarrow. The Group General Counsel acts as its Secretary. The Committee has responsibility for producing recommendations on the overall remuneration policy for directors and for setting the remuneration of individual directors, both for review by the Board. Members of the Committee do not vote on their own remuneration.

Nomination Committee

The Nomination Committee assists the Board in discharging its responsibilities relating to the composition of the Board. The Nomination Committee is responsible for and evaluates on a regular basis the balance of skills, experience, independence and knowledge on the Board, its size, structure and composition, retirements and appointments of additional and replacement directors and will make appropriate recommendations to the Board on such matters. The Nomination Committee also considers succession planning, taking into account the skills and expertise that will be needed on and beneficial to the Board in the future.

The Nomination Committee is chaired by Sir Henry Angest and its other members are Sir Nigel Boardman and Sir Alan Yarrow. The Group General Counsel acts as its Secretary.

Donations Committee

The Donations Committee considers any political donation or expenditure as defined within sections 366 and 367 of the Companies Act 2006. The Donations Committee is chaired by Sir Henry Angest and its other members are Andrew Salmon and Sir Alan Yarrow. The Group General Counsel acts as its Secretary.  

The following documents are available for download:

Economic Perspectives

Ruth Lea CBE, Economic Adviser to the Arbuthnot Banking Group, discusses the latest economic developments.